New Year, New Me??

This year just past was long. Too long. Too tiring. Exhausting. Emotionally. Physically. Mentally. Spiritually. Long.
Today is the first day of a brand new year. An open canvas, on which anything can be painted. An open book with 365 pages just waiting to be written. A large gift, neatly wrapped and waiting to be opened.

Whichever metaphor suits your fancy, it is all of that. All of that and so much, much more.

I don’t make New Years Resolutions. I don’t figure that I’ll keep them, anyway. If I want to resolve to do something, I’m not going to make it happen any more easily just because it is New Years Day.

But today? Today I resolved the same thing that I resolve every day. I stood in front of the mirror this morning and looked myself in the eye, and said, “Today, Rebecca, today is the first day of the rest of your life. Make it a good one. Find love. Give love. Be love. Be, at the end of today, just a little bit better than you are right now.”

And then, I went and faced my day.

The children were grumpy. The holidays have them completely worn out.

I was grumpy. The love was not always easy to find. Or give. Or be.

It was close to noon before it hit me. I’m doing this all wrong.

Love doesn’t come with conditions. Love is unconditional. We don’t say, “I love you, but if…” No. We say, “I love you.” We leave it at that.

So, I sat down with the children. We read a couple books. Then we made cookies. And suddenly, love was everywhere.

Love was in the sink full of dirty dishes.

Love was in the chocolate faces.

Love was in the Cinderella story.

Love was in the way my four year old sang “Let It Go”, at the top of her lungs, off key and off tune, but with the biggest smile on her face.

Love was in the way my nine year old looked at me and said, “Mom, you are the very best mom in the world.”

That, my friends, is LOVE.

Pure, unconditional love.

They didn’t remember that I had snapped at them earlier. I tried to forgive myself and forget it, too.

Life is full of love. If you can’t see it, look around you.

Find it.
Give it.
Be it.
Love.
~Rebecca

5 thoughts on “New Year, New Me??

  1. Enjoy this trip around the sun! In our home we can totally relate to exhaustion from the holidays and appreciate the love that went into making those memories. Wonderful tone and I look forward to reading your future insights.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

